Confessions of a Spoonie: Chelle del Rosario

Before we get stared I just want to apologies for there being no Outside Looking In on Saturday – we only received a few responses and not enough to fill our targeted amount.
Welcome to Another week of Confessions of a Spoonie, this week we have Chelle Del Rosario for you and she is here to share her story, come take a look! 

Chelle Del Rosario

391531_10151032364773425_356555781_nFounder + Editor

Connect with me!
Untitled design

What condition/s do you suffer from and when were you diagnosed?

  • 2013 – Migraine
  • 2014 – Pericarditis
  • 2015 – Psorisiform Dermatitis
  • 2016 – Scoliosis, Degenerative Disc Disease, Spondylolysis, Spondylolisthesis, Anxiety, Depression 

 

What are the main symptoms you suffer from?

Depression, back pain and skin lesions.

What 3 things have you learned about your condition since being diagnosed?

I’ve known about all of them from my schooling. Nothing surprised me.

 

What is the hardest part about your illness, in your opinion?

Difficult question. The simplest things now cause me intense pain (loading and unloading the dishwasher, walking/standing/sitting too long, my shower etc) and it prevents me from working/going to school and doing activities with my family.

List 3 phrases you hate hearing off other people about your condition.

  • Why are you depressed?! Just go and *insert activity here*”
  • “You’re STILL not working? But you seem fine! You should be working!!!”
  • “See if only you ate this instead of that, or did this instead of that, you wouldn’t have any of those.”

 

List do you wish people would say/do instead.

  • What can I do to make things easier for you?”

 

Do you have any cheats/tricks to get you through the day or to help you complete certain tasks?

  • I take a LOT of breaks and naps throughout the day as laying down is the only way to relieve the pressure off my spine – meaning I can do more when I get up. 
  • I usually do things halfway, take a break, and finish it. 

 

Have you picked up any new hobbies or activities since being diagnosed that you didn’t think you would?

I started blogging!!!

 

What do you do? Work, study?

I cannot do either due to my conditions, so I just stay at home. I contribute to the family by being the homemaker

 

What are you plans for the future?

  • To hopefully be able to transfer my college credits to another program that is a lot less physically demanding and finally get a career
  • Maybe I can find a job with a super understanding boss/manager who will understand everything that comes with my illnesses. That I may have to call in sick because I haven’t slept, or I have to leave early because I’m in a lot of pain.

 

Has your illness taught you anything about life?

Not to take the simplest things for granted

 

What advice/information do you wish you were told when you were first diagnosed?

That I should start my disability application right away as it’s guaranteed that I will have flare-ups and remissions.

 

What would be your main piece of advice for people who has just been diagnosed with your condition?

You have to take it super easy on yourself. Adjusting to this lifestyle of not being able to do everything you used to do is difficult. It’s okay to take a me-day. 


Untitled11.png

 

What’s Next?

Due to demands of her studies, Amy will be taking a little break from her blog to focus her time on finishing her year at University, however fear not! I will be taking control of Amy’s blog for a short while and publishing on her days for these two blogging events so you shall still see Confession of a Spoonie AND Outside Looking In being active on both of our blogs!

 

cropped-cropped-its-yab-logo.jpg

Blog you later »

Leave a Reply

