My Arthritis Inspiration.

Since starting my blog and getting a bit more involved on my Instagram I have had the opportunity to connect with so many different people. It’s allowed me to learn and develop, but to also express myself and connect with a variety of others who also suffer from chronic illnesses. But for me, there is one that stands out above all else. My inspiration for my Rheumatoid Arthritis, Eleanor.

Eleanor like myself suffers with Rheumatoid Arthritis, however it has unfortunately progressed much faster for her. She was diagnosed in 2014 at the age of 19 and basically, it all went down hill very fast for her. In and out of hospital, several different treatments and medications to trial, some causing severe side effects resulting in her going back into hospital and even taking chemotherapy drugs! But not only that, at the beginning of this year, only 3 years after being diagnosed with R.A she has had a Left total hip replacement! I mean that’s just crazy to think about.

Yet, with this whirlwind of events all happening to her in such a short period of time she truly has stayed positive. Following her in Instagram and reading what she is going through is truly heartbreaking, yet she is so empowering with her positivity that you cannot help but feel empowered yourself. On top of just spreading her story though, she is also raising loads of awareness for Arthritis by fundraising for Arthritis Research UK and linking it into her University projects. Almost a year ago now I was one of the lucky people who got to help with this project

Untitled.png

50 Shades of R.A was created by Eleanor for young people aged 16-24 years old who have been newly diagnosed with arthritis. The flip-book contains facts and useful information about the disease in a way that isn’t daunting or intimidating, but rather a comfortable, friendly and approachable. However, what started as just a University project got such a positive response that she is now producing and selling the flip-books!

With that all being said you can probably see why she is such a huge inspiration in general but for me she is truly moving. My struggle started at 16 years old however I was not officially diagnosed with R.A. until I was about 18/19 years old, the same age as Eleanor. Just the thought of having someone the same age as myself, being diagnosed with R.A at the time as myself makes me feel a huge connection to her. I feel extremely lucky to have been able to help her with her project last year and over the moon that her post-op recovery is going well! She has given me motivation, strength and confidence throughout this experience and continues to do so. All I can say is Eleanor, thank you

So please click here and go give her a follow and find out more about her inspirational story.

cropped-cropped-its-yab-logo.jpg

Blog you later »

3 thoughts on “My Arthritis Inspiration.

  1. Those flip books are such a great idea, especially aimed at a younger ‘audience’. I have osteopenia (with a high risk of RA soon given my last scans) and there’s no awareness or even medication for that at my age because it’s something ‘for older people’. x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yea exactly. More and more younger people are suffering with this kinds of conditions yet they are still assumes to be ‘old people’ illnesses. The flip books are great and I deffo think provide more information to younger people is something that should be taken more seriously. I know for me I wasn’t really told much about it until I started to intensely question the doctors! x

      Like

  2. A powerful story, thanks for sharing! I also feel almost automatic connections with other young folks who suffer from chronic illnesses. This is certainly an anomaly for our age group, so it feels good to know that we are not alone. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

