Blogger Recognition Award!

Guess who’s been nominated for the Blogger Recognition Award! How exciting and a big  thank you to Amy over at Living with ME for the nomination, I’m thrilled!

The Rules

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog. (Thanks again Amy)
  2. Write a post to show your award.
  3. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  5. Select 15 bloggers you want to give this award to.
  6. Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them, providing a link to the post you created.

 

How my blog began.

That’s actually a very hard question to answer. I suppose the thought process of starting a blog would have been based on the fact I had a lot to say but no one really to say it to (without harassing my friends constantly that is). You see I was going into my final year of University, I was raising money for charity, my illnesses had begin to progress and initially I just wanted to get my frustrations out! But it all started when my partner and I decided to raise money for Macmillan Cancer Research and shave our heads. Macmillan has been so good to both of our families and we wanted to both raise awareness of their amazing work and give back as much as we could. 

From there I spent a lot of time doing two things: finding my feet/my own style of blogging and building a strong network, reading other peoples stories and realising that this was definitely a great platform to be a part of. 

Advice to New Bloggers

  • Find your own style and don’t worry how long it takes. 

I know when I started I was looking through loads of different blogs, seeing what their styles were, what layout they used etc. in order to build mine into something majestic.  Why? That’s not you. Find what you like and build it how you want it, don’t be another sheep guided by a shepherd. Make it an extension of yourself.
The same things goes about your writing styles, this isn’t an English Degree assignment okay, so who cares about grammatical errors or spelling mistakes? Just be yourself, style it how you want others to read it or how you personally would want to read a blog! I personally try to base all of the writing in my blogs on the idea that I am physically talking to the person. Like I say, you do you and make it how you want it.

  • Build a Network of various Connections.

There are so many blogs out there, I cannot even fathom a guess! Each and everyone of them are different just like the people who write them, each with their own story to tell and voice to share. Follow blogs of course that are writing in the same category as yourself but spread your network further than that! Follow people on a variety of different categories, even if you’re not 100% sure on what it is, take the time to read what they have to say, you may find that you learn something new or potentially find a new hobbies/interest.
Since blogging I’ve learned so much about so many different things it’s baffling. Just take the time to read other peoples work, build connections and relationships. I know that from my experience, even though you may never meet these people in your life, you still feel connected.

 

My Nominees are..

cropped-cropped-its-yab-logo.jpg

Blog you later »

3 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award!

Leave a Reply

