Dairy Free – Is it really working out for me?

As many of you are aware I’ve been trying to amend my diet and fitness regime in order to benefit me in the long-term with my with my Chronic Illnesses. This year is my trial and error year to see what work for me and what doesn’t. Last month it was Gluten free, this month its Dairy.

Something I express frequently in by blog posts is that we are all different. Our bodies, the way our bodies work and react to different things, our different needs, mindsets, everything. We are all different in a countless amount of ways and therefore what works for one person, should not be expected to work for another. Add a long-term/chronic illness into the mix with a wonderful cocktail of medication and you’ll find that your bodies needs change. Great, so now you have to start all over again on finding out what works for you & your medication and what doesn’t. This is what I’ve been doing however it’s not as easy as it seems. I’ve found that some times when I am taking certain medication that my body will react differently to specific food groups compared to some of my other medications. Now that is just annoying. 

What I started to do towards the end of last year was based of this. Basically I went in for a medical review in the summer and got my medications all changed which was fine, they worked well with each other and with my body in many ways. After the first month (letting my body get used to the new medication) I found that I was always tired, unable to keep my concentration and just felt bloated/sluggish all of the time. I hadn’t changed what I had been eating which was fairly healthy anyway, however I did notice that I felt worse after eating pasta or bread. A consulted with my doctor who tested me for Celiac Disease (AKA Gluten Intolerance) and stated that even though the results were clear, it could just be my medication reacting with it and therefore I should cut down on gluten products. 

So, it got me thinking about my body and what I was fueling it with along with how I was reacting to these food products which basically gave me the push start I needed into planning a healthier lifestyle for me. Like I said at the beginning of 2017 in one of my post (click here to read) there was no point in jumping straight into it as half of the time, you give up after a week or so. No, I broke it down month by month to see how it would work for me and I wasn’t going to beat myself up if I cheated on the diet every now and again. So if it worked for me, it would stay – if not then no problem. 

  • January: Gluten Free 
    This went very well for me and felt an immediate boost in energy, alertness and all around well-being. Gluten Free is here to stay!
  • February: Dairy Free
    Now luckily for me dairy free doesn’t cut out eggs WOW because they are something I have regularly. But for me, dairy in my normal diet is usually in the form of cheese, occasionally cream in sauces or milk. Now I haven’t been finding it too bad at the moment as I had swapped over to almond milk 3 years ago anyway, so the only dairy milk I was having was a small splash in tea – that’s fine, I drink it black now or occasionally cheat and have it.

    As for cream and cheese, this was the harder part. I cut out all meals or recipes with them in however I haven’t found a dairy-free cheese yet to replace regular cheese with (I mean I haven’t really been looking either). But all in all it’s going well, I admit that I have been cheating here and there with having a small amount of cheese in an omelette etc. But again I can tell a difference in my skin and body without dairy products. 

I still feel like I have a long way to go yet to see if going fully dairy free is working out for me since I’m still cheating here and there but I believe that it the long run it may be something that stick. Just need to find myself a good substitute for dairy milk (as almond doesn’t go well in tea!) and a nice dairy-free cheese. 

  • March to May: Pescetarian, GF & DF
  • June to December: Vegan (potentially with eggs)

So there you have it, my dairy free diet update. Not all that effective from my part with the only really thing being the almond milk but I am determined to push a bit harder for these next two weeks and cut my cheats down completely. So if anyone has any recommendations on good dairy-free alternatives please, let me know! I don’t know how long I can go living without cheese


If you have any other comments or recommendations for going dairy free please leave a comment below – I would love to hear your story.

cropped-cropped-its-yab-logo.jpg

Blog you later Β»

9 thoughts on “Dairy Free – Is it really working out for me?

  1. Cheese is a huge part of my diet – not so much in quantity – just that it’s involved in so many quick meals (pizza, sandwiches, toasties etc). I imagine you adapt quite quickly though, once you have the alternatives at hand.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi. I’m on a dairy free diet too (for chronic illness), although I’ve never been a big fan of it anyway. It is hard to avoid! I like rice milk as an alternative and Daiya cheese is a good cheese alternative. I’m not sure I have noticed anything different yet but will keep trying. Good luck to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh wow, yea I was recommended trying dairy free by the doctors to see if it helps. Rice Milk as a general milk alternative, does it go well in tea? (I miss a good cuppa aha.) Ooo thanks I’ll have to keep an eye out for the cheese and give it a go.

      Yea the only real difference I’ve noticed is in my skin from not having as much dairy, i’m not to sure about anything else. Keep me informed on how you’re getting on, I’d love to hear if you have any other recommendations or changes πŸ™‚

      Good luck to you too!

      Like

      • I’m not sure rice milk would be good for tea, it has a thin consistency. You should try it though, maybe it would work for you… others I have tried are oat, hemp, soy, and coconut but they tend to have a nutty flavor. I think that’s why I like the rice milk best as it has a subtle taste. I have also found many vegan alternatives to things like butter and dressings that I find quite yummy. If you have access to natural food stores, they have the best selections. I even found a great non-dairy parmesan to shake on top of pizza and spaghetti! Keep me posted if you find any good options too. Thank you πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ahh yea I know what you mean, I’ve only tried almond milk and of course that’s nutty so doesn’t go well in tea. I will have to experiment with different dairy free milks and see what works. Wow thats awesome, I plan on eventually going vegan so I may have to pick your brains about vegan products/brands!
        Yea i’ll let you know how its going, thanks again! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

