CATCH UP! Getting organised for my Masters degree.

Since I didn’t post at all last week I am going to be writing two post a day this week to cover everything I had planned on writing for last week. You’ll see the posts that were meant for last week have CATCH UP! at the beginning of them. 

After doing my undergraduate degree and not being as organised as I should have been, I’m ready and raring to go for my Master’s degree next September. But I want this time around to be perfect, therefore I am getting on top of everything I can now in order to make the year go as smoothly as possible.

I know my degree doesn’t Start until September 2017 but there is no harm in being prepared right? So I am taking as many steps as I can to be ready for the start of the academic year.

But what steps are they? 

Well that’s a good question. I’m trying to be organised on as many different platforms as possible for both the upcoming academic year and what is to follow. So below is a break down of each platform I am preparing on along with a list of things I’m going to need:

Online.
Okay, so this is more the ‘post uni‘ check list but to make sure that I am in the best possible position with my online portfolio when it comes to looking for employment. Also by keeping this up to date while studying it could like to other opportunities along the way or earlier employment connections.  So this includes:

  • Keeping my LinkedIn account up to date.
  • Become a member of online HR groups (relevant to my field of study and could help both academically and in future employment opportunities)

 

Stationary & Technology.
When it came to first year of my undergraduate degree I went a bit O.T.T. with the stationary and in all honestly bought a box full of pens, pencils, highlighters and all sorts of magical things to then only use a black pen and some highlighters. The rest of these things can home with me and now sit in a box in the attic. So now, after 3 years of studies and academic knowledge I’ve created a ‘must have’ list for my master’s degree that will not go to waste and are essential for myself. This includes:

  • Laptop (since I don’t actually own one)
  • Voice recorder for lectures & Seminars (I never could write my notes quick enough, this will allow me to go back and listen to it all again)
  • Memory stick (to make sure all my important documents are backed up)
  • A4 note pad
  • A range of coloured pens including black (different colours for different forms of notes etc.)
  • Highlighters.
  • Sticky notes (to help direct me to important sections in books/paperwork and provide quick notes)

Academic.
This is more research-based. Things like buying the relevant texts 12903481_550649615116101_1167350224_oI need or finding them online, as well as other papers etc. that may be relevant to my studies. Just general early research which can get me ahead of the game. 

  • Collect all relevant/core text books for modules (ready in advance but also to start making notes etc.)
  • Collection of research in modules via different academic sources (e.g. other publications, books, journal articles or online) that can be referred back to if found necessary.
  • Print out of module break down (again, to see if I can get any headway in certain areas)

And that’s just the things I can think of, if you guys think of anymore please drop me a comment letting me know! 

cropped-cropped-its-yab-logo.jpg

Blog you later »

Leave a Reply

