Breastfeeding Awareness – August

Last week was Breastfeeding Awareness Week, so I thought I would write about the campaign, breastfeeding and my views on it all. Let me know what you think.

Breastfeeding has been a thing since the beginning of time –  Yes that’s right, cave men did not own powdered milk! Weird right? Though it is not for everyone, The NHS state that breastfeeding is highly recommended for new mothers and their babies for the first 6 months of their birth as it has so many benefits, for example:

  • your breast milk is perfectly designed for your baby
  • breast milk protects your baby from infections and diseases
  • breastfeeding provides health benefits for you
  • breast milk is available for your baby whenever your baby needs it
  • breastfeeding can build a strong emotional bond between you and your baby

Not only this but breastfeeding has long-term health benefits for your child, which last right up into their adulthood and whether you chose to breastfeed for 6 month, 2 years or for along as your child wants it, it will continue to help them grow and develop healthily. PLUS breast milk is fantastic – it adapts as your baby grows and changed to meet your babies needs! I mean, could you ask for anything more?

Okay, so lets look at the health benefits for the child. It reduces the risk of:

  • infections 
  • diarrhoea and vomiting 
  • sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS)
  • childhood leukemia
  • type 2 diabetes
  • obesity
  • cardiovascular disease in adulthood

And now for the Moma, it reduces the risk of:

  • breast cancer
  • ovarian cancer
  • osteoporosis (weak bones)
  • cardiovascular disease
  • obesity

From what I have read online, yes breastfeeding can be quite tedious to start with which I can imagine, I mean the Moma’s never done it before and neither has the baby. So the both of you are having to learn something new together, find each other rhythm etc. Plus every body is different, some take a little longer to produce the milk, so cannot and others are basically bursting with milk.

However I am not going to go into this too much as I am not a mother, I don’t know enough about all of this but what I can tell you is that either which way, it is normal because everyone is different therefore their is no right way to do anything. 

Untitled design

My views.

Drawing this post to a close I just thought I would state my opinion on breastfeeding and leave you with a funny story afterwards. I believe breastfeeding is fantastic, if you can do it then please, do it! If it’s not for you, then that’s all well and good, no big deal.

But there is one thing I cannot stand and that is the whole argument of women breastfeeding in public. Now, hear me out before you go judging. I can understand the argument on both sides that it is a natural thing for a mother to do with her child, with the alternate side stating that it is not for the public eye. Both points are valid and I can understand that it may be an awkward thing to view in the public eye but there is one thing that it is definitely not. It is definitely not wrong

I have seem so many social media videos of people breastfeeding to promote it etc. and public responses stating that it is wrong.

How the hell can it be wrong?

Your body has created a life and a living environment for it for the past 9 months to help it grow and life –  which is bloody extraordinary in itself. But the body then goes on to provide and unlimited food resource for your child which adapts and changes to that child’s needs? 
How on earth is that wrong? There is no medication or food source like it in the world! Also, why is it wrong for humans but its “aww so cute” when lets say a lamb or calf is feeding?

At the end of the day it is what’s best for the child and the mother, whether that’s breastfeeding or not. We are all entitled to opinions but I believe, no one is entitled to state that this, most basic human act that has been around this the beginning of time is wrong. 

Untitled design

Rant over aha. Let’s lighten things up a bit shall we?

When I was born, I was my mothers first and of course, she decided to breastfeed with me (go Moma!). She was getting regular visits from the nurse to see how things were going off course and by about day 5 my mom was very concerned about me. 
She told the nurse that all I did was sleep, she would have to force me awake just to feed me but I would just pass out. It wasn’t a normal sleep but a deep unconscious state. It was all very worrying for my mom as I was her first child.

What I probably should have mentioned at the start is that my mom is epileptic and is on medication for that which she takes twice a day. What had been happening is obviously, her meds were in her system and were being integrated into her breast milk and initially, knocking me out. Meaning I was the best baby (since she has had a further two since myself) as I was always quiet or asleep.  

So unfortunately for my Mom, she had to stop breastfeeding and was unable to with her next two children. 

I hope you’ve enjoyed the post and I would love to her your views or if you have a funny story like myself.

cropped-cropped-its-yab-logo.jpg

Blog you later »

 

Leave a Reply

