Ready to start the race.

So I’m here, I’m all ready to go but what’s the hold up? Oh yea, I’m still waiting for the Physiotherapy to start! No worries, nothing like being prepared so I have gotten everything else in place all ready to start next week.. hoping the Physio starts then anyway. 

It’s been two weeks and still no physiotherapy. I mean it’s fair enough, I live in a smallish area and it seems they’ve all took their holiday’s around the same time so I suppose I can forgive them this once. But it’s not all bad, it’s given me time to get myself sorted and talk with my Doctor more on what else I can be doing to help with my recovery and maintenance of my joints, if you’d like. The two things we have discusses is my diet and other exercises I could be doing. 

Diet.

You may remember that a couple of weeks ago I wrote a post on my diet (click here) as it was changed to help me get more Iron into by body, due to my Anemia. Well it’s now been changed again, but not too much. So rather than just focusing on increasing my iron, I’m also to start eating foods that will help reduce inflammation in my joints and that have been proven to benefit those with Arthritis.
However, there is one catch I’ve added myself. So all of this is to help me feel better and help my conditions but I am also trying to put on between 7 to 14 pounds (3 to 6 kg). I know that doesn’t sound a lot at all but this past 2 years I have had a lot of trouble with my weight and I just cannot seem to keep it on. When I was my best weight I was 9 stone 7 pounds (60 kg), but within the space of 6 months I dropped over 2 stone and was down to around 7 stone 5 pounds (47 kg).

1916091_468294646707758_7403523370940363964_n

I know it’s hard to tell the difference but the weight in my face, arms and legs were the most noticeable. 

It was a horrible experience and it seemed no matter how much I stuffed my face, I would only fluctuate by half a stone, getting me back up to 8 stone (50 kg). 2 years later, I am now up to 8 stone 5 pounds (52 kg) which is fantastic. It’s not perfect but it is so much better compared to where I used to be. So yea, I want to gain a bit of weight to just get back to a healthy/normal weight for someone my age and height. 

Anyway, enough on my weight. This diet is to help me get healthy and help take some of the strain off my conditions and reduce inflammation. So here is a list of things I’ve been told I have to eat and drink to help myself out, but I am free to eat or drink anything extra on top of that.

Fluid (per day)

  • 2 litre Water 
  • 1 litre of Green Tea 
  • 500 ml Almond Milk
  • 500 ml Smoothie Mix (Fruit/veg & milk based)

Food & Snacks

  • 6 ounces whole grains – per day (i.e. brown rice, quinoa, brown bread)
  • 3 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil –  per day
  • 1 cup of beans – Twice a week (i.e. kidney, pinto)
  • 4 ounces of Fish – Twice a week (i.e. tuna, salmon, sardines, herring)
  • 9 servings of Fruit & Veg –  per day
    (1 serving = 1 cup of fruit/veg. i.e. any berries & citrus fruits) OR (1 serving =2 cups of raw leafy greens. i.e. kale, spinach, broccoli)

So this is all to help different things: calcium to strengthen my bones, citrus fruits to help increase vitamin C, which in turn helps iron absorption into my body. The rest will help me maintain a healthy lifestyle and reduce inflammation in my joints. Hopefully, this will also give me more energy, reduce stiffness while getting up in the morning and maybe regulate my body weight. 

Exercise.

Moving onto exercise, along side physiotherapy, which will occur once a week, I have been suggested to try fill up my week with other activities that are friendly to my conditions and will work well along my physio and recovery.
So, to go with my physiotherapy that will occur once a week, but I will do the exercises/stretches twice a day, I have also been advised to go swimming twice a week for 45 minutes each. This exercises will be weightless on my joints. By doing controlled lengths and using a combination of swimming strokes, it will allow me to work different muscle groups/joints, strengthening and stretching them. This, in turn should help me move forward in my physiotherapy.;;

The next exercise I have been told to do I have mentioned in a few of my previous posts, Yoga. My doctor believes that along side my Physio and swimming, yoga will help me develop my physio stretches and find balance in my body. The yoga will again, like swimming, allow me to strengthen other muscle groups/joints in a controlled environment, help me become more flexible and once more, help me progress in my therapy. So I’ve been told to try an also do Yoga twice a week for an hour each time. 

So just to get this straight, I work 9am-3pm Monday – Friday and 16 hours over the Weekend. In between that I have to do physio stretches every morning and evening as well as attending a physio class once a week, 2 x 45 minutes of swimming a week PLUS 2 x 1 hours of yoga a week AND eat & drink all of the above. I don’t even know if there are enough hours in the day! But it’s worth a try.

Wish me luck and I will let you know how it is going in a few weeks time. If you have any suggestions on other things that could help me out, please let me know.

cropped-cropped-its-yab-logo.jpg

Blog you later »

Leave a Reply

