An update into my new Diet.

As many of you will know, I suffer from Anemia, as well as a couple of other blood disorders which in turn affect the way iron is used and absorbed within my body. This, goes on to affect my other illnesses which is not good.  However, I am on Iron tablets which help but after a few bad blood results recently I was recommended a change in my diet

Now, I don’t know about anyone else but I go through stages with my eating, I can either go the whole day hardly eating anything, maybe just one main meal or all I do the whole day is stuff my face, however it’s all junk foods, snacks and well, unhealthy! So getting a normal diet of three meals a day with an additional two snacks a day was going to be a little bit of a strange sensation. So, it was time to start planning this which I was excited about.

I had been recommended to eat more foods that were high in iron and foods high in vitamin C. The vitamin C helps the iron get absorbed into the body (which should hopefully help stop that issue) and obviously the boost of iron to actually get into my body and be used as it is meant to. Now lucky for me, half of these foods contained both iron & Vitamin C and weren’t all that exotic/hard to find, meaning they were easy to incorporate into my dinners. Win win!

So what sort of thing have I been eating?
Well here is an example walk through of a days meals for me:

8-9.30AM Breakfast.
I make sure at this time in the morning I drink 24 fluid ounces of water (just over half a litre), followed by a cup of tea, handful of dried apricots, an orange and a slice of brown toast.

1-2PM Lunch.
Again I drink another 24 fluid ounces of water, followed by something like a three bean salad or Chicken breast on a bed of Kale, maybe some peppers or tomatoes in there too and a hand full of nuts to finish.

After this (depending on if I feel peckish or not, I will have some fruit, either being mixed berries, a kiwi or an orange. 

6-7PM Dinner.
Between now and bed time I will drink a final 24 fluid ounces of water and have for dinner something along thee lines of roasted veg (sweetcorn, peppers, sweet potato, leeks etc) with perhaps a cut of steak cooked rare and maybe rice or a bed off spinach, topped with crunchy bacon pieces. 

10-11PM Snack.
Nothing better before bed than a nice cup of tea or hot chocolate with either a few biscuits or some mixed nuts. 

So as you can see, it’s a lot of leafy greens, citrus fruits, nuts & red meats and all in all a lot of food compared to what I am used to. I am finding the portions great and I am getting used to eating this much food, it’s just thee cooking that is the boring bit.  However I have noticed a lot of changes just within this last week. I’m not as tired as I usually am, I feel more alive and active through the day which is fab! Also I don’t feel as weak and washed out, I feel hydrated and like my color is coming back to me, ever so slightly (as I am painfully white/grey). But most of all I just feel good, good that something has got done about it and that I am in control of it, along with the fact that I am seeing changes in myself. 

If anyone has any suggestions or recommendations for me to help with my anemia please, leave a comment below! Also, look out for some of my food pictures on my next Snapshot Saturday Post! 

cropped-cropped-its-yab-logo.jpg

Blog you later »

One thought on “An update into my new Diet.

Leave a Reply

