Living with.. A Medical Update.

Over the past view months I have noticed and mentioned on several occasions that my illness has changed. Task’s that I used to be able to do with semi-easy ability are now more difficult, tiring and painful. I admittedly hit a low, but once you’re down there is only one way to go. Up

To give you a quick catch up on how my Arthritis has been, basically it’s went a bit over the top. Stepping out into the rain, or even slightly damp weather before would make my legs achy but now, it causes my legs and predominately my left hip so much pain, discomfort and the feeling of them being so weak that they would break at any moment. It would not pass as quickly as normal, it leaves me bed ridden and in so much pain. However the worst was when on one day, I had not been out, I spent the day working in the house, yet the following day when I woke up, it was as if I had run a marathon. everything was screaming in pain and again, was so weak. I could hardly put pressure on my legs.

I couldn’t understand why this was happening. Why had it gotten so bad so quickly? So, I went straight to the Doctors for more tests and guidance.

I’m not going to bore you with the details of my examinations & blood tests but what I will tell you is what did happen, a miracle finally! After years of asking for proper support rather than just pain killers, it has finally getting sorted. I’m going to see an occupational therapist.

What does this mean?
Well, what the GP and occupational therapist are arranging is for me to be fitted with some leg supports, a wrist splint and potentially something for either my back/hip or feet (which would incidentally help my back/hip). In the near future I will have an appointment with the two of them to evaluate what form of knee brace/support will be most beneficial to my needs as well as the others, meaning that I am a step closer to getting some proper support!

I know that sounds like a sad thing to celebrate about, as well as the fact that it had to get worse before it got better but I am just so grateful that something is now being done about it and I will be getting some proper supports for my joints! The only down side (I suppose) is that they are going to give me a walking stick or frame for when things get really bad and based off how I was the day of my appointment. As much as I am grateful that this is all finally getting sorted, it was a bit of a bummer to realise just what stage my illness was at already and, like the doctor said “it doesn’t stop its deterioration, but it will help slow it down and ease the suffering” for which I am more than grateful. 

So there you have it, I am getting support. I will keep you posted on how things go and tell you how I find my new supports once they are sorted.

cropped-cropped-its-yab-logo.jpg

Blog you later »

2 thoughts on “Living with.. A Medical Update.

    • Hi Oscar & Faith, thanks I look forward to the fitting, just trying to schedule in a date that works for them. I’ll let you know how it goes. And as for meds, I am still on what I was on last time (nefopam, naproxen)
      Hope you guys are well. xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

