A step closer to my dreams.

Over this last month I’ve been very up and down with my emotions, feeling like nothing was really going my way and really stressing myself out. Well that as all changed and my feelings have been turned around after the most amazing occurrence the other day.. I got a job in Human Resources

download (1)

It all started last week, I had been looking for placements and job closer to the sort of thing I wanted to do when I finished University but nothing was coming up, I’d applied for so many different things but nothing. Anyway, I was suggested to try and get some experience in a local Office for a private care service, they said the Owner was lovely and would no doubt be happy to help out. So I gave it a go.

He got back to me the following morning and asked me to come to the office to ‘see what I was made of‘ and to get an idea of what sort of things I would be doing for him if I any form of placement. No big deal, headed into the office, filed a few things, wrote a few documents up, nothing especially hard. At the end of this he sat me down in the office to talk about my degree, my up coming Masters and what I wanted to do in life. It was a really pleasant chat and all of that and I felt comfortable straight away in the Office. Anyway, a cup of tea and several biscuits into the chat he comes right out and offers me a job!funny-cat-meme-cake

Well I almost lost it straight away. A mouth full of biscuits plus trying to thank him so much does not go well.. it results in half chewed biscuits almost all over the place.

So as you can imagine that is amazing, working Monday to Friday 9am-5pm and building up my business experience in general.. well he done me one better. Now the office is small an consists of 12 staff (13 including myself) so he has put me on administrations, which is the standard and what I expected but he has also put me on Human Resources, which is the dream for me! Hr & Administrations, I could not be happier, and its not even like I am shadowing or assisting, I am straight in there with the jobs I am doing. I am currently in charge of selecting and putting the field staff (about 90 staff members) on training programs, keeping up to date on all staff records regarding training, holiday hours and absences, in charge of running their job advertisement websites as well as collecting and sorting candidate information and eligibility, finally I am also task with redesigning their website to make it more appealing!

I could not be happier with this experience and I love it, a week in so far and I am over the moon! Lets hops it stays that way.

Apologies for the lack of posts but like I say, come 1st July and the new schedule will start and the regularity of posts will return! 

cropped-its-yab-logo.jpg

Blog you later »

 

12 thoughts on “A step closer to my dreams.

      • Did you ask for any accommodations at your new job? Or explain your chronic illness at all? If you did, I am curious how you approached it and what kinds of accommodations you asked for and how you broached that conversation.
        This is something that has been bothering me recently quite a bit, because I know I will have to do it with a future boss in the near future, but no idea how to go about it. So I would be grateful to anybody I could learn this from! Thank you! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I haven’t had the official talk with then yet but I have brought little bits up into convocation. I am going to talk to them about it next week when I am back in (and they are not busy with meetings etc. like they were this week) and I will probably write a post about it for Wednesday, so I will explain in their how it went 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

