Living with RPD.

What is RPD?

This stands for Recurrent Patella Dislocation – aka recurrent knee dislocation. Basically, it’s a nightmare. kk

What happens with this is that if you dislocate your knee when you are younger, maybe from a sporting injury that you are likely to have it happen again and again and again..
So of course as a youngster doing a lot of running this happened to me and continued to happen in the future, but only if I ever over done myself in a race or athletics. 

After a while however, I found that this was happening more often, I’d wake up with slightly sore legs and as I would be walking down the stairs – BOOM – dislocated knee. It wasn’t until I was being investigated for my Arthritis and other Musculoskeletal illnesses that they discovered it was due to two main factors. Firstly, because when I had dislocated the very first time, the tissue which was torn had never truly healed/didn’t heal correctly, giving the knee cap the ability to come out of place so often. But also due to the fact I have JHS/HMS (Joint hypermobility / Hypermobility syndrome). The NHS define this as:

‘some or all of a person’s joints have an unusually large range of movement and are able to move their limbs into positions others find impossible. some people refer to this as having “loose joints” or being “double-jointed” ‘.

So basically, my knee hasn’t healed properly giving it the capability to move out of place occasionally but the JHS just gives it another reason to and makes it much easier for it to dislocate! Add the Arthritis and everything else and you can imagine what a nightmare it all is.  

But enough about the negative side I suppose, the ‘good‘ thing about when your knee dislocates is that you can easily relocate it yourself or it correct itself and you don’t necessarily need to go to the Hospital. The NHS advice that you:

‘Either straighten your knee or ask someone to gently lift up your foot. The kneecap will usually correct itself and the pain should rapidly fade. If you think you’ve dislocated your kneecap for the first time and it hasn’t corrected itself, call an ambulance. Sit with your leg outstretched and keep it still.’

So not all doom and gloom I suppose, just something that happens and you live with.

However for me, this wasn’t really the case, mine was rather quick. For me my knee would dislocate and relocate super quickly leaving me in a lot of pain and causing quite a lot of damage the the surrounding muscles. Though the incidents for me are quick it still is a cause for concern and I do keep and eye on it. Over the years the pain has gotten less and less for I presume my body has just learned to heal around it and like I mentioned above, made a groove for it to fall into. However at the beginning of this, it required 6 weeks of physiotherapy, mild pain killers and anti-inflammatories.

So there you have it, some information on RPD and living with it! Not very interesting I know but just something else to make people away of. look out for next Tuesday’s post where I will be talking about Osgood Schlatter’s Disease and JHS.

 

Blog you later »

 

References.

 

One thought on “Living with RPD.

Leave a Reply

