Dissertation – the next steps.

So the final year of university is here and semester one has been and gone. Then comes semester two, easter break and a few weeks for deadlines and then BOOM! I am finished. It’s crazy how fast everything is going! 

 

So far I have completed 2 large assignments and a presentation and am awaiting their results. All I have left to do now is a campaign, 2 assignment and of course my dissertation. However, due to my classes for second semester not starting for the next two weeks I have had plenty of time to work on my dissertation, so let me walk you through it.

So far.

  • Written the introductory section which covers the host organisation (My University) as well as giving an insight into what I plan on doing within the report.
  • Amended any corrections in order to make this introductory 1,000 words perfect. 
  • Collected several different pieces of texts required for my report. 

 

To-Do list for this week.

  • Start part two of my dissertation (a literary review) which is up to 3,000 words.
  • Create relevant questions to ask specific individuals in relation to my report.
  • Begin organising these interviews with several relevant individuals. 

So, as you can see I have a lot to be doing. So far I have set up the interviews with both a member of the HR department in the university (a lady i have been liaising with over this whole period) as well as a HR professor within the university, who also happens to be my dissertation leader. These interviews with take place on the 2nd and 3rd February therefore I will be sure to blog about them in order to keep you up to date on my progress. But for now, it’s time to sit down and start typing away at my literary review which isn’t so bad now that I have broken it down into subheadings. The information I am to cover is as follows:

  • introduction to recruitment.
  • Definitions on a variety of recruitment processes.
  • Older recruitment processes.
  • Modern recruitment processes.
  • Positive elements of the modern processes.
  • Drawbacks of the modern processes. 

This will then be followed by talking about the previous recruitment strategy that the university used to use before the introduction of the new strategy almost 2 years ago. From here I will go on to talk about the comparisons between both strategies as well as the positive and negatives of both. 

Well that’s me all up to date. Next Wednesday I will talk to you about my new Equality and Diversity module and the research I had to conduct before the class beings in February. Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it. If you have any questions or suggestions feel free to leave me a comment.

Blog you later »

Leave a Reply

